生效日期:2018年5月25日

忆术家是由Memrise Limited(忆术家有限公司)(以下简称“忆术家”)提供的在线学习服务。我们的服务(以下简称“服务”)包括各种初学者到高级语言内容和课程。这些内容可通过:(i)可在手机、笔记本电脑和/或平板电脑上下载的各种操作系统的应用程序(以下简称“应用”);以及(ii)我们网站https://www.memrise.com以下简称“网站”)上提供。

此隐私政策说明了我们会通过服务收集哪些个人数据(定义如下),我们将如何使用和共享这些数据,以及在我们的数据实践方面您所拥有的选择。

此隐私政策构成我们使用条款的一部分,我们的使用条款请查看https://www.memrise.com/terms/

在使用服务时向我们提供您的个人数据,即表明您同意按照此隐私政策中的规定处理您的个人数据。如果您不同意此隐私政策,请勿访问或使用服务。

1.我们收集的个人数据

当您与我们的网站或应用互动时,我们收集的信息可单独或与其他信息一起用于识别您的身份(“个人数据”)。

您向我们提供的个人数据。当您注册或使用服务时,您自愿向我们提供某些个人数据,包括您的姓名、电子邮件地址、用户名和个人资料图片。如果您通过社交媒体帐户(包括Facebook和Google登录)注册帐户,您可能会看到您的哪些朋友正在使用服务。我们从这些帐户获得的信息取决于您的设置以及社交媒体平台的隐私政策,因此请查看这些政策以了解这些平台的隐私惯例。

如果您购买了Memrise Pro订阅服务,可能会要求您向我们的一个或多个支付服务提供商提供支付信息(包括支付卡号、与该卡相关的安全码、有效期)(请查看以下“共享和披露”部分)。

当您使用服务时,您可以生成学习数据,例如测试答案、学习成绩以及课程进度,我们将收集并存储这些数据以便用于与服务相关的用途。

我们还会在您填写表格(例如支持请求或提交调查)中的任何“自由文本”框时收集您选择提供给我们的信息。此外,我们可能还会收集您在我们的论坛、博客以及您可以发布信息和资料的其他服务区域中披露的个人数据。

我们也可能会收集非个人数据,例如您的时区或语言。

自动收集的数据:当您使用服务时,会在我们的系统中创建并自动记录以下信息:
日志数据:您的浏览器在您访问网站时自动发送的信息(“日志数据”),或者在您使用应用时自动发送的信息。日志数据包括您的互联网协议(“IP”)地址(因此我们了解您访问网站时连接的是哪个国家)、浏览器类型和设置、请求的日期和时间以及与服务交互的方式。
Cookie:来自设备上存储的 Cookie 以及其它技术的信息。请查看我们的 Cookie 政策,详细了解我们如何使用 Cookie 和其它技术。
设备信息:包括您正在使用的设备类型、操作系统、设置、唯一设备标识符、网络信息和其它设备特定信息。收集的信息可能取决于您使用的设备类型及其设置。
使用信息:我们收集与您如何使用我们的服务相关的信息,例如您查看或参与的内容类型、您使用的功能、您采取的操作、与您互动的其他用户以及您活动的时间、频率及持续时间。

2.我们如何使用数据

我们将如上所述收集的数据用于:

验证用户身份、提供服务、处理交易并响应您的请求。对于欧盟内的用户,这种使用对执行与您签订的合同来说非常必要。

对于某些合法商业利益来说,这是必要的,其中包括:

根据用户的级别和需求定制学习体验和难度。

更好地了解访问者如何与我们的网站互动,并确保我们的网站以最有效的方式呈现给您,并作为保证我们的网站、网络和信息系统安全工作的一部分。

进行分析以告知我们的营销策略,并让我们能够改进和个性化我们的沟通以及我们为用户提供的体验。

以邮寄方式提供我们认为您会感兴趣的信息。

如果您要求我们删除您的数据或从我们的营销列表中删除,则我们需要履行您的请求,我们将保留用于识别您身份的基本数据并防止进一步的不必要处理。

我们可以对我们收集的信息进行匿名化、去识别化和/或进行汇总,并将此类匿名化、去识别化和/或汇总的数据用于商业、统计和市场研究目的,包括与关联公司及业务合作伙伴共享。

开展或协助研究,并准备学术论文。我们可能会将我们收集的信息以匿名和去识别化形式与研究人员共享,帮助我们改进服务学习工具。我们也可能使用这些信息发表关于语言学习方面的论文。

市场营销。我们会通过电子邮件或推送通知向您发送有关我们的新产品和服务、即将举行的活动或其它促销或新闻的最新信息。在法律要求的情况下,我们只会在您向我们提供您的个人数据时同意后,才会向您发送市场营销信息。您可以按照我们向您发送的每封促销电子邮件中包含的说明或通过更新您的用户设置来选择不接收此类电子邮件。此外,如果您在任何时候不希望未来收到任何市场营销通讯,请通过电子邮件 privacy@memrise.com 与我们联系。我们将继续通过电子邮件与您联系,提供我们的服务并回复您的请求。

有关适用的欧盟(“欧盟”)法律规定下您所拥有的权利信息,请查看下文的“欧盟法律规定的权利”部分。

3.共享和披露

服务的其他用户可以查看您上传到服务的个人资料信息,包括课程、学习成绩以及您关注的用户。

在下列情况下,我们可能会与某些第三方共享您的个人数据和其他信息:

供应商和服务提供商:为了协助我们满足业务运营需求并执行某些服务和功能,您的个人数据可能会与托管、电子邮件通信以及客户支持服务、分析、市场营销、广告等第三方提供商共享(包括美国的 Amazon Web Services 和 Google,均通过了隐私护盾认证)。有关可能通过网站放置 Cookie 的第三方详情,请查看下文“Cookie”部分。按照我们的指示,这些当事方可以在为我们履行其职责的过程中访问、处理或存储个人数据。

业务转让:如果我们涉及合并、收购、融资尽职调查、重组、破产、接管、出售我们全部或部分资产,或将某项服务转移给另一提供商,您的个人数据和其他信息可能会作为此类交易的组成部分而转移给继承人或关联公司。

法律要求:如果法律、适用法规要求进行此类行动,或者善意地认为此类行动对于以下各项有必要:(i) 遵守某一项法律义务,(ii) 保护和维护忆术家的权利或财产,(iii) 在紧急情况下采取行动以保护网站或应用程序用户或公众的人身安全,或 (iv) 保护忆术家免于承担法律责任。

4.数据保留

出于此隐私政策中描述的目的,我们将在合理长的时间期限内保留您的个人数据,此类期限应为我们合法业务需要或法律(例如税务、法律、会计或其他目的)要求的期限,以较长者为准。

5.更新您的信息

如果您需要更改或更正您的个人数据,或希望从我们的系统中删除您的个人数据,可以联系我们。我们将按照适用法律的要求处理您的请求。您也可以通过用户设置自行更新个人数据。

6.加利福尼亚州隐私披露

我们可能会在您使用网站或应用后,在我们的网站或应用上使用Cookie或其他技术,收集随着时间推移以及在不同网站之间您的浏览活动的相关信息。我们可能允许第三方服务提供商和其他第三方也这样做。我们目前不回应“禁止跟踪”(DNT)信号,并按照此隐私政策的规定进行操作,无论是否收到DNT信号。

如果您希望了解关于在我们网站上收集个人数据以用于直接营销目的的第三方信息,请联系我们

7.欧盟法律规定的权利

范围。本部分提供欧盟法律规定的您的权利信息(为此目的,提及欧盟还包括欧洲经济区国家冰岛、列支敦士登和挪威)。

数据控制者。忆术家有限公司是您的个人数据的数据控制者。若要查找我们的注册办事处,请查看联系我们页面

您的权利。根据欧盟法律,您拥有与您的个人数据相关的以下权利:

访问权:如果您向我们提出要求,我们会确认我们是否正在处理您的个人资料,如果是,我们会向您提供此类个人资料的副本以及某些其他详细信息。如果您需要额外的副本,我们可能需要收取合理的费用。
纠正权:如果您的个人数据不准确或不完整,您有权要求我们纠正或完善个人数据。如果我们与其他方共享您的个人数据,在可能的情况下,我们会告诉他们有关更正的信息。如果您向我们提出要求,并且在可能及合法的情况下,我们也会告诉您我们与谁共享您的个人数据,以便您可以直接与他们联系。
删除权:在某些情况下,您可能会要求我们删除您的个人数据,例如我们不再需要此类个人数据时,或者您撤回您的同意时(如适用)。如果我们与其他方共享您的数据,在可能的情况下,我们会提醒他们需要删除。如果您向我们提出要求,并且在可能及合法的情况下,我们也会告诉您我们与谁共享您的个人数据,以便您可以直接与他们联系。
限制处理权:在某些情况下,您可能会要求我们限制或“阻止”处理您的个人数据,例如您对数据的准确性提出异议或反对我们处理数据(请阅读下文中有关您的反对权信息)。在解除处理限制之前,我们将会通知您。如果我们与其他方共享您的个人数据,在可能的情况下,我们会告诉他们有关限制的信息。如果您向我们提出要求,并且在可能及合法的情况下,我们也会告诉您我们与谁共享您的个人数据,以便您可以直接与他们联系。
数据可携权:您有权从我们这里获得您同意向我们提供的个人数据,或根据我们与您签订的合同在必要时提供给我们的信息。我们会以有条理、常用和机器可读的格式向您提供您的个人数据。您可以在别处重复使用该数据。
反对权: 您可以随时要求我们停止处理您的个人数据,我们将在以下情况下停止处理您的个人数据: 如果我们依赖合法利益(如上文“我们如何使用数据”部分所述)处理您的个人数据 -- 除非我们证明有令人信服的正当理由来处理您的个人数据;或 如果我们正在处理您的个人数据用于直接营销。
有关自动化决策与分析的权利:除非在您与我们之间签订的合同中规定有必要,或者您明确同意这一用途,否则您有权免于仅基于自动处理您的个人数据而做出决定,包括分析。
撤销同意的权利:如果我们依赖您的同意来处理您的个人数据,您有权随时撤销此类同意, 但这不会影响已经发生的任何数据处理。
向数据保护机构提出投诉的权利:如果您对我们的隐私惯例存有任何疑虑,包括我们处理您的个人数据的方式,您可以将其报告给有权听取这些问题的数据保护机构。

您可以联系我们以行使您的权利。

合法利益。“合法利益”是指我们在开展业务、管理以及向您提供最佳服务方面的利益。此隐私政策描述了我们将在何时出于我们的合法利益而处理您的个人数据,这些利益有哪些以及您的权利有哪些。我们不会将您的个人数据用于对您的影响超出我们利益的活动,除非我们已获得您的同意或法律要求或允许这些活动。

变更。我们会通过在网站或应用上发布醒目通知或通过法律要求的其他方式通知您此隐私政策中所述的数据处理活动方面的变更。

8.公开发布的信息

此隐私政策不适用于您发布到服务公共区域的任何信息。这些信息包括但不限于忆术家博客或公共论坛上的评论。发布到公共区域的评论可能会被第三方查看、访问和使用,并接受这些方隐私惯例和政策的约束。

9.儿童

忆术家不会有意收集13岁以下儿童的个人数据。如果您有理由认为有13岁以下的儿童通过服务向忆术家提供了个人数据,请联系我们,我们将尽力从我们的数据库中删除此类信息。

10.链接到其他网站

网站和应用可能包含指向并非由我们经营或控制的其他网站(“第三方网站”)的链接,包括社交媒体网站和服务。您与第三方网站分享的信息将受此类第三方网站的特定隐私政策和服务条款的约束,而不受此隐私政策的约束。通过提供这些链接,并不意味着我们认可或审查过这些网站。请直接联系这些网站以获取有关其隐私惯例和政策的信息。

11.安全性

我们采取合理的管理和技术措施来保护个人数据免遭丢失、滥用以及未经授权的访问、披露、更改或破坏。但是,通过互联网的传输方法没有100%安全的。因此,尽管我们努力保护您的数据,但我们无法保证其绝对安全。

12. Cookie

我们网站使用Cookie以及其他技术让您更容易在将来的访问中使用服务、监控我们网站或应用的流量以及定制个性化教学内容。了解更多信息,请查阅我们的Cookie政策。

13.我们隐私政策的变更

我们可能会随时变更此隐私政策,在进行变更时,我们将会在此页面上发布更新版本。我们发布更新后的隐私政策后,如果继续使用我们的网站和应用或向我们提供信息,即表示您同意修改后的隐私政策及惯例中所述的内容。

14.联系我们

如果您对我们的隐私政策或数据实践有任何疑问,请联系我们

Effective date: 25 May 2018

Memrise is an online learning service offered by Memrise Limited (“Memrise”). Our services (“Services”) include a wide variety of beginner to advanced language content and courses. This content is available (i) on applications (“Apps”) for various operating systems available to download on mobile, laptop and/or tablet devices, and (ii) at our website https://www.memrise.com (“Website”).

This Privacy Policy explains what personal data (as defined below) we collect through the Services, how we use and share that data, and your choices concerning our data practices.

This Privacy Policy forms part of our Terms of Use, which are available at https://www.memrise.com/terms/.

By providing us with your personal data when using the Services, you consent to the processing of your personal data as described in this Privacy Policy. If you do not agree to this Privacy Policy, please do not access or use the Services.

1. Personal Data That We Collect

When you interact with our Website or Apps, we collect information that, alone or in combination with other information, could be used to identify you (“Personal Data”).

Personal Data You Give Us. When you sign up for or use the Services, you voluntarily give us certain Personal Data, including your name, email address, username, and profile picture. If you register for an account through your social media account (including Facebook and Google Sign-in), you may see which of your friends are using the Services. The information we get from these accounts depends on your settings and the privacy policies of the social media platforms, so please check those policies to understand the privacy practices of those platforms.

If you buy a Memrise Pro subscription, you may be asked to provide payment information (including payment card number, security code associated with the card, expiry date), to one or more of our payment service providers (please see “Sharing and Disclosure” section below).

When you use the Services, you may generate learning data such as test answers, learning scores, and progress within a course, which we will collect and store for use in connection with the Services.

We also collect information you choose to provide to us when you complete any “free text” boxes in our forms (for example, support request or survey submission). In addition, we may collect Personal Data disclosed by you on our forums, blogs and our other areas of the Services to which you can post information and materials.

We may also collect non-Personal Data, such as your time zone or language.

Automatically Collected Data: When you use the Services, the following information is created and automatically logged in our systems:
Log data: Information (“log data”) that your browser automatically sends whenever you visit the Website, or that the Apps automatically send when you use them. Log data includes your Internet Protocol (“IP”) address (so we understand which country you are connecting from when you visit the Website), browser type and settings, the date and time of your request, and how you interacted with the Services.
Cookies: Information from cookies and other technologies stored on your device. Please see the “Cookies” section below to learn more about how we use cookies and other technologies.
Device information: Includes type of device you are using, operating system, settings, unique device identifiers, network information and other device-specific information. Information collected may depend on the type of device you use and its settings.
Usage Information: We collect information about how you use our Services, such as the types of content that you view or engage with, the features you use, the actions you take, the other users you interact with and the time, frequency and duration of your activities.

2. How We Use Data

We use the data we collect, described above:

To authenticate users, provide the Services, process transactions and respond to your requests. For users located within the EU , this use is necessary to perform the contract with you.

As necessary for certain legitimate business interests, which include the following:

To customize the learning experience and degree of difficulty to our users’ level and needs.

To better understand how visitors interact with our Website and ensure that our Website is presented in the most effective manner for you, and as part of our efforts to keep our Website, network and information systems secure.

To conduct analytics to inform our marketing strategy and enable us to enhance and personalize our communications and the experience we offer to our users.

To provide communications by post which we think will be of interest to you.

If you ask us to delete your data or to be removed from our marketing lists and we are required to fulfil your request, we will keep basic data to identify you and prevent further unwanted processing.

We may anonymize, de-identify and/or aggregate the information that we collect and use such anonymized, de-identified and/or aggregated data for commercial, statistical and market research purposes, including sharing it with affiliates and business partners.

To conduct or assist research, and prepare scholarly papers. We may share the information we collect in anonymized and de-identified form with researchers who help us to improve the Service’s learning tools. We may also use such information to publish papers on language learning.

Marketing. We will send you updates and information about our new products and services, upcoming events or other promotions or news by email or push notification. Where required by law, we will only send you marketing information if you consent to us doing so at the time you provide us with your Personal Data. You may opt out of receiving such emails by following the instructions contained in each promotional email we send you or by updating your user settings. In addition, if at any time you do not wish to receive future marketing communications, please contact us at privacy@memrise.com. We will continue to contact you via email regarding the provision of our Services and to respond to your requests.

For information on your rights under the applicable European Union (“EU”) law, please see the “Rights under EU Law” section below.

3. Sharing And Disclosure

Other users of the Services can see the profile information you upload to the Services including courses, learning scores and users you are following.

We may share your Personal Data and other information with certain third parties in the following circumstances:

Vendors and Service Providers: To assist us in meeting business operations needs and to perform certain services and functions your Personal Data may be shared with third-party providers of hosting, email communication and customer support services, analytics, marketing, advertising (including Amazon Web Services and Google in the United States, both certified to the Privacy Shield). For more details on the third parties that may place cookies through the Website, please see the “Cookies” section below. Following our instructions, these parties may access, process or store Personal Data in the course of performing their duties for us.

Business Transfers: If we are involved in a merger, acquisition, financing due diligence, reorganization, bankruptcy, receivership, sale of all or a portion of our assets, or transition of a service to another provider, your Personal Data and other information may be transferred to a successor or affiliate as part of that transaction.

Legal Requirements: If required to do so by law, applicable regulation or in the good faith belief that such action is necessary to (i) comply with a legal obligation, (ii) protect and defend the rights or property of Memrise, (iii) act in urgent circumstances to protect the personal safety of users of the Website or the Apps, or the public, or (iv) protect Memrise against legal liability.

4. Data Retention

We will keep your Personal Data for as long as reasonably necessary for the purposes described in this Privacy Policy, while we have a legitimate business need to do so, or as required by law (e.g. for tax, legal, accounting or other purposes), whichever is the longer.

5. Update Your Information

If you need to change or correct your Personal Data, or wish to have it deleted from our systems, you may contact us. We will address your request as required by applicable law. You are also able to update your Personal Data yourself from your user settings.

6. California Privacy Disclosures

We may use cookies or other technologies on our Website or Apps that collect information about your browsing activities over time and across different websites following your use of the Website or Apps. We may allow third party service providers and other third parties to do the same. We currently do not respond to “Do Not Track” (DNT) signals and operate as described in this Privacy Policy whether or not a DNT signal is received.

If you would like to request information about third parties that collect Personal Data on our site for direct marketing purposes please contact us.

7. Rights Under EU Law

Scope. This section provides information on your rights under EU law (for these purposes, reference to the EU also includes the European Economic Area countries of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway).

Data Controller. Memrise Limited is the data controller for your Personal Data. To find out our registered office, please see our Contact Us page.

Your Rights. Subject to EU law, you have the following rights in relation to your Personal Data:

Right of access: If you ask us, we will confirm whether we are processing your Personal Data and, if so, provide you with a copy of that Personal Data along with certain other details. If you require additional copies, we may need to charge a reasonable fee.
Right to rectification: If your Personal Data is inaccurate or incomplete, you are entitled to ask that we correct or complete it. If we shared your Personal Data with others, we will tell them about the correction where possible. If you ask us, and where possible and lawful to do so, we will also tell you with whom we shared your Personal Data so you can contact them directly.
Right to erasure: You may ask us to erase your Personal Data in some circumstances, such as where we no longer need it or you withdraw your consent (where applicable). If we shared your data with others, we will alert them to the need for erasure where possible. If you ask us, and where possible and lawful to do so, we will also tell you with whom we shared your Personal Data with so you can contact them directly.
Right to restrict processing: You may ask us to restrict or ‘block’ the processing of your Personal Data in certain circumstances, such as where you contest the accuracy of the data or object to us processing it (please read below for information on your right to object). We will tell you before we lift any restriction on processing. If we shared your Personal Data with others, we will tell them about the restriction where possible. If you ask us, and where possible and lawful to do so, we will also tell you with whom we shared your Personal Data so you can contact them directly.
Right to data portability: You have the right to obtain your Personal Data from us that you consented to give us or that was provided to us as necessary in connection with our contract with you. We will give you your Personal Data in a structured, commonly used and machine-readable format. You may reuse it elsewhere.
Right to object: You may ask us at any time to stop processing your Personal Data, and we will do so:
If we are relying on a legitimate interest (described under the “How We Use Data” section above) to process your Personal Data -- unless we demonstrate compelling legitimate grounds for the processing; or
If we are processing your Personal Data for direct marketing.
Rights in relation to automated decision-making and profiling: You have the right to be free from decisions based solely on automated processing of your Personal Data, including profiling, unless this is necessary in relation to a contract between you and us or you provide your explicit consent to this use.
Right to withdraw consent: If we rely on your consent to process your Personal Data, you have the right to withdraw that consent at any time, but this will not affect any processing of your data that has already taken place.
Right to lodge a complaint with the data protection authority: If you have a concern about our privacy practices, including the way we handled your Personal Data, you can report it to the data protection authority that is authorized to hear those concerns.

You may contact us to exercise your rights.

Legitimate Interest. “Legitimate interests” means our interests in conducting our business, managing and delivering the best Services to you. This Privacy Policy describes when we process your Personal Data for our legitimate interests, what these interests are and your rights. We will not use your Personal Data for activities where the impact on you overrides our interests, unless we have your consent or those activities are otherwise required or permitted by law.

Changes. We will notify you of changes to the data processing activities described in this Privacy Policy by posting a prominent notice on the Website or the Apps or as otherwise required by law.

8. Publicly Posted Information

This Privacy Policy shall not apply to any information you post to the public areas of the Services. This includes, but is not limited to comments on the Memrise blog or public forums. Comments posted to public areas may be viewed, accessed, and used by third parties subject to those parties’ privacy practices and policies.

9. Children

Memrise does not knowingly collect Personal Data from children under the age of 13. If you have reason to believe that a child under the age of 13 has provided Personal Data to Memrise through the Services please contact us and we will endeavour to delete that information from our databases.

10. Links to Other Websites

The Website and the Apps may contain links to other websites not operated or controlled by us (“Third Party Sites”), including social media websites and services. The information that you share with Third Party Sites will be governed by the specific privacy policies and terms of service of such Third Party Sites and not by this Privacy Policy. By providing these links we do not imply that we endorse or have reviewed these sites. Please contact those sites directly for information on their privacy practices and policies.

11. Security

We take reasonable administrative and technical steps to protect the Personal Data from loss, misuse and unauthorized access, disclosure, alteration, or destruction. However, no method of transmission over the internet is 100% secure. Therefore, while we strive to protect your data, we cannot guarantee its absolute security.

12. Cookies

The Website uses cookies and other technologies to make it easier for you to use the Services during future visits, monitor traffic on our website or apps and to personalize instructional content. For more information, please refer to our Cookie Policy.

13. Changes To Our Privacy Policy

We may change this Privacy Policy at any time and when we do we will post an updated version on this page. By continuing to use the Website and the Apps or providing us with information after we have posted an updated Privacy Policy you consent to the revised Privacy Policy and practices described in it.

14. Contact Us

If you have any questions about our Privacy Policy or our data practices, please contact us.