Czech courses - a comment not a criticism

When I started learning Czech on Memrise I just plumped for the first course on the top of the list. After a week or so I found the length of the course I'd chosen dispiriting as it never seemed to come to an end. I then looked down the list and picked out courses with the fewest amount of words. I've found these suit me best, as I get a sense of achievement when I can harvest words and finish a course within (to me) a reasonable amount of time. This may say more about me than the courses and is not meant as a criticism, just a comment.

I have found Memrise a huge help in my Czech learning and thanks to you both, Doralina and Mangodurian, for all the work you’ve put in.

Posted by Fronika 4/29/12, last update 5/16/12 (2 years ago)
  • Dear Fronika, you have to thank Mango much more, I just started to add some words or courses a few weeks ago! I understand your point, but on the other hand - if you have very slow connections (and memrise is not the fastest site I know as well ...) I like it to have more words in one course - so I can water them all in a bundle and do not have to wait and wait and wait ... On the other hand I started with all the shorter courses as well (who doesn´t like to have a quick success ...) - but it is difficult to continue the "lessons" - as probably there are special books behind that. But I could try with mine ...

Posted by doralina 4/29/12 (2 years ago)
  • Hi Doralina, it's probably because I'm so new I like to feel I'm getting somewhere quickly. I'll just have to "man-up" and face the long haul. :)

I don't know if it would be of interest to you, but I found the words of "Holka modrooka" written out online.

http://www.karaoke-lyrics.net/lyrics/platnum/holka-modrooka-228720

A funny thing, my Czech friend hates the word holka for a girl. He thinks it's vulgar. He says divka is far better.

Posted by Fronika 4/30/12 (2 years ago)