How long did it take you to learn Mandarin HSK 1?

Just interested to hear your experiences! Personally, I'm learning on average 15 new words every week. With nearly 400 words in the HSK level 1 list, I should complete the course in about 33 weeks, or 8 months. Before I started this HSK course, I had used some mp3 'listen and repeat' type course (Pimsleur) and looked at a few Mandarin/Pinyin books a bit. I've never attended any classes, pretty much self-taught. How did you get on/ are you getting on with the course? Did you use other methods? Attend any classes? etc

Posted by MarkBurgess 8/19/12, last update 8/25/12 (1 year ago)
  • I started 3 weeks ago and i've actually reached the 200 words goal. I had no actual knowledge of Chinese before joining this site.

This number is biased because it's summer and i have plenty of time to dedicate, so i can afford spending 20 min in the morning and 20 min in the evening to water all the words and 10 minutes to learn from 5 to 15 new words a day.

I don't think i will be able to keep the pace when the summer will be over but doing the math, probably i will be done with HSK 1 in a month or so.

Posted by chobeat 8/19/12 (1 year ago)
  • Thats awesome! My memory is like a sieve:) I could step up a little more from 15 words a week I'm sure, but I trying to be sure to remember all I learn.

I think its helpful, in fact important to speak what you learn in daily use, with Mandarin speakers if possible, to help with pronunciation. Hence my questions about 'other methods'.

There seem to be a not a few people on Memrise who are much more advanced in Mandarin. Any other comments on what is useful for building a good foundation in the language?

Thanks for your reply chobeat, all the best with your learning, Mark

Posted by MarkBurgess 8/20/12 (1 year ago)